Drama As NJC Denies Knowledge Of Shortlist Of 22 Judges To Supreme Court

Drama As NJC Denies Knowledge Of Shortlist Of 22 Judges To Supreme Court

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has officially stated that it is not in the know regarding the shortlist of 22 justices presented by the Federal Judicial Service Commission (FJSC) for the Supreme Court bench.

Barrister Soji Oye, the Director of Information at NJC, stated that the nomination hasn’t been brought to his attention.

The FJSC reportedly compiled a list of 22 justices from the Court of Appeal, intending to submit it to the NJC for consideration in elevating them to the Supreme Court.

Released on Thursday, the FJSC list shows a regional distribution of nominees, with North-Central and South East having six nominees each, North-East, South-West, and South-South having two nominees each, while North-West has four nominees.

This development follows the revelation in September 2023 that the number of justices in the Supreme Court had decreased to 10, contrary to the constitutional stipulation of 21.

The nominated justices and their respective regions are as follows:


  • Hon Justice Nwaoma Uwa (Abia State)—Priority
  • Hon Justice Onyekachi Otisi (Abia State)—Reserve
  • Hon Justice Obande Ogbuinya (Ebonyi State)—Priority
  • Hon Justice Theresa Orji-Abadua (Imo State)—Reserve
  • Hon Justice Anthony Ogakwu (Enugu State)—Priority
  • Hon Justice Chioma Nwosu-Iheme (Imo State)—Reserve


  • Hon Justice Moore Adumein (Bayelsa State)—Priority
  • Hon Justice Biobele Georgewill (Rivers State)–Reserve


  • Hon Justice Adewale Abiru (Lagos State)—Priority
  • Hon Justice Olubunmi Oyewole (Osun State)—Reserve


  • Hon Jummai Sankey (Plateau State)—Priority
  • Hon Justice Muhammad Ibrahim Sirajo (Plateau State)—Reserve
  • Hon Justice Stephen Adah (Kogi State)—Priority
  • Hon Justice Ridman Maiwada Abdullahi (Nassarawa State)—Reserve
  • Hon Justice Baba Idris (Niger State)—Priority
  • Hon Justice Joseph Ikyegh (Benue State)—Reserve


  • Hon Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani (Bauchi State)—Priority
  • Hon Justice Abubakar Talba (Adamawa State)


  • Hon Justice Muhammad Lawal Shuaibu (Jigawa State)—Priority
  • Hon Justice Bello Aliyu (Zamfara State)—Reserve
  • Hon Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar (Kebbi State)—Priority
  • Hon Justice Abdullahi Mahmud Bayero (Kano State)—Reserve

While not explicitly denying the nomination, the NJC Director of Information refrained from confirming it, stating that the proposal had not been brought to his office’s attention.

Similar Posts